The Federal Government has assured Nigerians of its commitment to ensure a seamless transition of power to the incoming government.

Screenshot 2023-03-30 at 09.36.33.png

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation and Chairman of the Presidential Transition Council, Boss Mustapha, CFR, gave the assurance at the first interface between the Presidential Transition Council (PTC) and the Media in Abuja.

Screenshot 2023-03-30 at 09.37.11.png

SGF said that the Federal Government is doing everything possible to have a peaceful and smooth transfer of power to the new President.

Screenshot 2023-03-30 at 09.37.55.png

“The Transition process is on course and all efforts are being made to ensure that it is smooth and on May 29th, there would be peaceful formal transfer of power to the new President”. He said.

He added that the essence of the interface with the media is necessary so as to keep Nigerians abreast of developments, build inclusiveness and lay a solid foundation for peaceful transition of power in our country.

Screenshot 2023-03-30 at 09.37.32.png

According to SGF the 24-man Presidential Transition Council has been divided into three Committees: The Inauguration Committee; Transition Document Committee and Facilities, Security and Intelligence Committee in order to ensure smooth transition process. In his words:

“The Inauguration Committee headed by SGF is responsible for organizing the swearing–in and the inaugural parade; working out the details Programmes and other logistics necessary for the successful inauguration ceremonies. The Transition Documents Committee, headed by the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, is responsible for compiling all policy, programmes and projects of this administration in the form of a compendium that focuses on this government’s nine (9) priority areas. The third committee is the Facilities, Security and Intelligence Committee responsible for organising necessary facilities, including furnished office and personnel and the security for the President-and Vice-President-Elect and their transition team”.

In keeping with the request of the PTC to nominate two representatives to work with the Council, he stated that the President-elect, Senator Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu nominated His Excellency, Atiku Bagudu, the Governor of Kebbi State and Chief Olawale Edun to be part of the Council in line with the provision of the Executive Order 14, both of whom have since joined the Council.

The press briefing was called to update the public on the progress made so far by the PTC on the forthcoming inauguration scheduled for May 29, 2023. 

Willie Bassey
Director, Information

29th March, 2023